issues with copyright © law and practice

I have just found an article about an appalling situation concerning use of copyright material. As one who has had a photograph taken by me used without permission by RTÉ – the state broadcaster in the Irish Republic, as well as seeing some of my other photos passed off as someone else’s work – particularly in work, this is something somewhat close to my heart.

When I contacted RTÉ and asked where they got the image from – I was told that it was from the website of my employer, David Ford MLA, and therefore it was public domain – I pointed out that it quite clearly stated that it was my copyright. They disputed, and eventually despite having used it, changed it. No money changed hands. Sadly.

We should all take note.

Leave a Reply

