Anna Lo: an update… a rather liberal take on what I was saying

Icon for use on Template:Politics of Northern ...
Image via Wikipedia

A Pint of Unionist Lite has commented about a post of mine* about the reaction of Anna Lo MLA to the story from Fermanagh about Social Democratic and Labour Party Councillor John O’Kane’s comments on creating a centre ground grouping, I would like to confirm that I made my statements full in the knowledge that some could try to twist my words into saying what they do not.

This can happen to anyone who makes any public comment on any issue.

But, to go back to the original issue that I had then – and still do have – with what Ms Lo was saying, let me be clear about my thoughts on this important issue.I asked whether Ms Lo telling us all that if we want a shared future for everyone in Northern Ireland then we should join the Alliance Party was an equivalent to telling us that the Alliance Party was the only party that could govern Northern Ireland to achieve this. This seems to me to be the logical conclusion to what Anna said.

I originally asked if she wanted Northern Ireland to be a one-party state like the People’s Republic of China, but I could have used other examples including Cuba, Eritrea, North Korea, Laos, Syria, Turkmenistan, or even Vietnam. I chose not to use these other examples in order to grab the reader’s attention.

In this instance the juxtaposition of Anna Lo, who is known the world over as the first member of a legislature in Europe who is ethnically Chinese, together with the one party state that is the People’s Republic of China, I thought was justified.

If some cannot understand that I was making the point in the way that I did to cause people to think, then in my opinion, such people need to sit down and think about the logical conclusion to what Ms Lo originally said.

It is interesting that a new blogger, Padraig, has commented on O’Neill’s post and said:

I think the line from Anna which [Michael Carchrie Campbell] quoated [sic] “people must join the one party that deals with this issue ahead of all others, , and that’s the Alliance Party.” is the killer.

It is all well and good praising other parties for making movement, but when you in the same statement then go on to say they are not going far enough and only our party is the way to go, maybe there is a point. There was a reasoning that other parties do share a vision for a shared society of which Anna seemed intent that there can be only one.

I don’t know who Padraig is, but he seems to have got what I was saying quite well.

Footnotes

* O’Neill did not link back to my original post. Perhaps it is a long time since he read Blogging for Dummies®†? (Susan Gardner & Shane Birley,
† S Gardner & S Birley Blogging for Dummies®, 3rd edition, Wiley Publishing, Inc., New Jersey, 2010.

8 thoughts on “Anna Lo: an update… a rather liberal take on what I was saying

  1. I did link it, check the first mention of Anna Lo.

    Fair enough, I should have perhaps done it directly to Campbell’s name but I couldn’t find her original comment, so I though I’d kill two birds with one stone; apologies for the confusion.

    “In this instance the juxtaposition of Anna Lo, who is known the world over as the first member of a legislature in Europe who is ethnically Chinese, together with the one party state that is the People’s Republic of China, I thought was justified.”

    Well, there we’ll have to differ.

    It would have been quite possible to rip apart her comments without needing to bring her ethnicity in any form into it as far as I’m concerned, but it’s a subjective call and if you feel it’s justified, then I’ll guess we just have to leave it up to any readers to decide. I’m 100% happy with my post and see no need to alter.

    BTW, she was (afaik) born in Hong Kong well before it was handed back to the People’s Republic of China, are you aware of that fact? If you had been, would you have done the same post?

    1. O Neill says:

      I couldn’t find her original comment

      Might I suggest that checking the website of her own party would have been an idea?

      I am perfectly aware that Anna was born in Hong Kong before it was

      ‘handed back to the People’s Republic of China’.

      Whether I knew or did not know this fact was immaterial to the point that I was making. But as O’Neill says, we’ll have to differ on that one.

  2. “Might I suggest that checking the website of her own party would have been an idea?”

    Just checked your original post, you also didn’t link directly into her comment but thanks for the advice anyway.

    1. At the time that it was made, it wasn’t on the website – but by the time that your comment was made it was.

  3. The comment you quoted is verbatim the one which appeared on their website, on exactly the same day (7th) you did your post-

    http://www.allianceparty.org/news/005669/lo_comments_on_sdlp_cooperation_call_saying_people_know_alliance_are_number_1_on_community_relations.html

    Where did you get your quote from if it wasn’t from there?

    If it wasn’t from there, why didn’t you link the original source as “Blogging for Dummies” would have presumably advised you to;)

  4. I saw it in an email, as a press release.

    The website must have been updated after my post was made.

    No more comments please…

  5. Have to say as soon as this story was released and tweeted, by the Alliance Party, I read it as quoted above. It does appear now to have been reworded. I balked at the original release’s wording because of what I am trying to do work wise.

Leave a Reply

