best wishes to Fathers Burnham, Newton, & Broadhurst

John Henry Newman
Blessed John Henry Newman. Pray for us. Image via Wikipedia

As the first personal ordinariate is erected and Father Andrew Burnham and Father John Broadhurst take up membership with Father Keith Newton as the Ordinary, I wish them and all who will come into communion with the See of Peter in this way all the very best. Fathers Burnham and Broadhurst I have met and I know that they will continue to work for the Cure of Souls, and to bring people to Christ as they have in the past in the State Cult of England.

When I was received – now nearly six years ago – there was still some talk of a Third Province for Anglicans who could not accept the ordination of women as bishops. At that time I could not see how that would work. I had hoped then – nay I prayed that the Holy Father would see some way of helping those who looked to him as their father – as I had.

Among many friends who have been receieved just before me or just after me, I know that they will be looking to the Ordinariate with great hope. Whether they will be able to join – or even if they would want to – is up to them. I know that I am happy as a Catholic. I already have my Anglican patrimony built-in.

I pray that Blessed John Henry Newman will watch over the Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham.

Our Lady of Walsingham pray for them.

Perhaps you would say this

Prayer for England.

Our Lady of Walsingham, pray for us.

O Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of God, and our most gentle Queen and Mother, look down in mercy upon England, thy Dowry and upon us all who greatly hope and trust in thee. By thee it was that Jesus, our Saviour and our hope, was given unto the world and he has give thee that we might hope still more. Plead for us thy children, whom thou didst accept at the foot of the cross, O sorrowful Mother. Intercede for our separated brethren, that with us in the one true fold, they may be united to the Chief Shepherd, the Vicar of thy Son. Pray for us all, dear Mother, that by faith, fruitful in good works we may all deserve to see and praise God, together with thee in our heavenly home. Amen.

Leave a Reply

