Singing with the spirit and with the understanding also


This morning I walked away from the Praise Band at church, for some reason or another I was just not in a fit state to perform with them. Perhaps that is the real problem it felt like we were gearing up for a performance instead of leading worship. Anyway, during the service I ended up jotting down on the back of the hymn sheet the following:

It’s not gelled together. Too many voices wanting to be heard over each other. Forgetting it’s worship of God – not a performance for man. 

It’s all probably because I spent twenty-two years growing up in a choir that was a member of the Royal School of Church Music, with the motto

Psallam spiritu et mente. (1 Cor. 14.15)
I will sing with the spirit, and with the understanding also. 

However, I let my self down and the RSCM this morning when I walked out. I should have remembered the Choristers’ Prayer

Bless, O Lord, us Thy servants who minister in Thy temple.Grant that what we sing with our lips we may believe in our hearts, and what we believe in our hearts we may show forth in our lives.Through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen. 

which we sang or said before heading into the service every Sunday back in the choir in which I grew up.I should have remembered it. I said things that I ought not to have done. For that I am sorry.

I don’t know if my church is a member of the RSCM or not but perhaps it should be mentioned or suggested.

cross posted on both Michael CC’s daily journal and Gyronny Herald

2 thoughts on “Singing with the spirit and with the understanding also

  1. A thoughtful piece Michael, a reflection of how even when we are right we may be wrong! Worship is so personal that sometimes we forget it also has to be corporate in order to reflect the truth of who we are – one day we will get it!!!!
    So great to catch up with you guys last week…..really looking forward to the big day 🙂

Leave a Reply

