4 months and a few days

Scottish Liberal Democrats Party Logo
Image via Wikipedia

This morning I woke up and received advance notice of a post that was going up on LibDemVoice. My mind started racing… I was in the middle of finalising my first TMA for my Open University course, but all I could think about was how would I feel if Andrew was not about any more.

The sad news that we all woke up to today, and more people are finding out as I type, is that Andrew Reeves, Deputy Director of Campaigns for the Liberal Democrats in Scotland, passed away this morning following a heart attack last night. Not knowing Andy as well as others like Mark, Caron, or Stephen, I am unable to tell stories of Andy in past campaigns, however I do have a few thoughts.

Andy was 43 years old and recently married his long time partner, Roger relatively recently. I asked Stephen Glenn by direct message on Twitter when Andy and Roger had got married, the answer came back

28 January

I started to work things out. That means, that only four months and a few days have elapsed since Roger and Andy got married. We all know that they were together for a long time before that but, having recently got married myself, I know that that short ceremony does change things. For us, it makes everything feel a bit more safe.

I don’t know how I would feel if something were to happen to my Andy in early September, I am pretty certain that I would fall to pieces. Therefore, I can only imagine what Roger is going through today. My thoughts are with him and with all the family circle as well as all my fellow Lib Dems who today are in mourning.

Andrew Reeves, Requiescat in Pace.

Leave a Reply

