Sister Etheldreda SSL – a memory

Sister Etheldreda SSL with a past pupil from Ghana

It is a year since last I sent a card to Sister Etheldreda SSL for her feast day which is today. This year it will not be happening at all. Today, however, I will be remembering my friend Sister Etheldreda, as I say the Office, and pray that her soul is resting in peace, and that she will be with God.

Sister Etheldreda, became part of my life as we saw her walking up and down the Cullybackey Road near my childhood home. Little did I realise then how much she would influence me in my adult life.

Known locally as ‘the walking nun’ Sister Etheldreda was until very close to her death last year always walking about somewhere. She was always very active and encouraged me to be so too.

When I finally phoned her the day after I became a Catholic, her response to me was:

Alleluia. Welcome home.

followed by

It worked, the years of prayer worked.

Now, let me repay her prayer for me by praying for the happy repose of her soul and the souls of all the faithful departed.

Réquiem ætérnam dona eis Dómine; et lux perpétua lúceat eis. Requiéscant in pace. Amen.

An indulgence of 300 days, applicable only to the holy souls (S. C. Ind., Feb. 13, 1908, S. P. Ap., May 17, 1927)

– from “The Raccolta”

Our Lady of Intercession, pray for us.
St Louis, pray for us.
St Etheldreda, pray for us.

 

Leave a Reply

