Passport issues for Lib Dem Conference

This passport remains the property of Her Majesty’s Government in the United Kingdom and may be withdrawn at any time.

p. 2 of my UK Passport

This may seem a strange quotation with which to begin a blog post but it really is relevant. I have finally decided that I ought to register for the forthcoming Liberal Democrat Conference in September. I was prompted to do this by the news from Gareth Epps that he has not made it through the conference vetting.

Now, I have hit a snag in the process myself.

I have started to fill in the forms online. The next question poses me quite a dilemma.

Do you own a passport?

Well, I have a passport: but do I own it? I wonder what will happen if I click on the No.

Eh? What?

It is quite simple really,

1. I have checked in my passport and it states that it

remains the property of Her Majesty’s Government in the United Kingdom and may be withdrawn at any time.

2. I want to answer the questions truthfully.

Therefore what do I say?

If I check No, and the powers that be run a check they will find that I have a passport.

If I check Yes – then I am lying.

It seems that we cannot win.

Maybe I should go to conference and register in person?

And if I don’t get through, I’ll have  a nice trip in and around Birmingham.

2 thoughts on “Passport issues for Lib Dem Conference

  1. That’s almost as good as the “has anyone put anything in your bag without your knowledge?” question they used to ask at the airport before they engaged their brains.

Leave a Reply

