Review: Edward Carson

Edward Carson
Edward Carson by Anthony Terence Quincey Stewart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having not known much about the leader of the Ulster Unionists at the time of the formation of Northern Ireland, I found ATQ Stewart’s book extremely interesting. There were particular stories stories of Edward Carson which I found amusing.

…Carson had on one occasion great difficulty in getting past the police and into the building. ‘I’m the Solicitor-General,’ he told the policeman at the door. ‘That’s what they all say,’ was the reply.

It seems that Carson was involved not only with the partition of Ireland, but in the arbitration between the United States of America and Canada regarding the border of Alaska.
All in all, I’ve a bit more of an understanding of Edward Carson than when I began.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

