The “Scout” Hymn by Ralph Reader

Now as I start upon my chosen way,
In all I do, my thoughts, my work, my play,
Grant as I promise, Courage new for me
To be the best, the best that I can be.

Help me to keep my Honour shining bright,
May I be Loyal in the hardest fight
Let me be able for my Task, and then,
To earn a place among my fellow men.

Open mine eyes to see things as I should,
That I may do my daily turn of good,
Let me be ready, waiting for each need
To keep me clean in thought and word and deed.

So as I journey on my chosen way,
In all I do, my thoughts, my work, my play,
Grant as I promise, Courage new for me
To be the best, the BEST that I can be.

Ralph Reader CBEI’ve been clearing out some of my possessions that have gathered up over the years. It’s been ages since I had seen the card with the music and words for the hymn above. When I found it, I found myself humming the tune. The words are simple, yet mean a lot. I hope that some of my Brethren in Scouting will find a use for the hymn.

The words (and possibly the music) are written by Ralph Reader CBE.

Leave a Reply

