Languages… refreshing and learning anew

I have always enjoyed learning languages. At school, I studied French all the way to A-Level, and had a year-and-a-half of German too. Sadly, the first grammar school I attended scrapped us learning Latin in the first year, so any Latin that I have currently has been picked up along the way. I am currently studying on a Spanish course with The Open University, but have decided to try and improve my Latin as well, so am restarting the work in A Primer of Ecclesiastical Latin by John F. Collins. Since I am not working at the moment, all of this should keep me out of mischief.

Last week I found a copy of The Oxford Companion to French Literature in the Gibraltar Bookshop, so I bought it. Who knows I may even end up reading some more French as well! Today when in the same bookshop, I saw the Collins Latin Dictionary & Grammar so bought that too.

Leave a Reply

